A Get Out of Jail Free Card for Writers

One writing method I use is drawing from the people I know and my own life experiences.

As far back as I can remember, when it came to making decisions an alarming voice would go off in my head saying – over and over again – stick to what you know, stick to what you know. It was just a coincidence that this irritating voice sounded much like my mother’s!

Growing up in my house it a rule of thumb and was embedded in us that before you proceeded in doing anything that you heeded this cautious advice.

In fact, I pitied the fool who made the foolish mistake not to act in these ways. For a great alarm would go off that seemed so loud it could wake up the whole neighborhood and left you feeling like you robbed Fort Knox or something.

I thank my mother for instilling this in me for it has proven to be a get out of jail free card in numerous instances in life experiences. I can’t count the number of times it has kept me out of harm’s way.

In one of my previous posts I revealed that the first chapter of “Why Ruin Another Life” chronicles the way in which this story came about, telling you that my part in this story was portrayed in the character of Shawn.

the story resonated through me, and I was compelled to write it. I knew I couldn’t go wrong because I was sticking to what I knew.

Thank you, Mama.

Leave a Reply

